Campus News

Who’s Hiring?

On Oct. 4, students searching for potential employers filled the Marion Bowman Activities Center for the University’s Fall Career Fair. The fair was hosted by Career Planning and over 40 employers were invited!

From the set-up to the teardown, the atmosphere was energetic as employers from many career fields were eager to find potential employees. A few of the employers were alumni that got their jobs from career fairs like this. With selections such as law enforcement agencies, school districts, and even Michael Kors, there was most likely a job for every student.

“I’m here because, as a freshmen and a first generation college student, I wanted to start out knowing the possible fields early so when I graduate I’ll know what I’m doing. Networking is key!” Said Destiny Herbert, a freshman, and psychology major.

Students of all grades and differing majors showed up. All students were dressed for success with resumes and business cards in hand. Most employment seeking students were well spoken and began each conversation with a firm hand shake and great eye contact. The Winter Garden police department was ready to get students through the hiring process that same week!

“I’m here today because it’s an experience that we all want, we get to learn a lot, and I want to see the different things that are being offered to me and what my options are so I may broaden my scope. So far the event has been great, and I’m glad I came!” Said Rayonia Slater, a freshman and biomedical and health sciences major.

Even some lesser known companies showed up. According to Glassdoor, 98% of companies have said that on-campus fairs are the best way to brand themselves with students. So it’s not only the students benefitting from career fairs but also employers. What else do employers offer for branding? Well, freebies of course! From cups, stickers, pens, lanyards you name it and they had it.

Quick tips for career fairs include bringing multiple resumes, dressing professional, taking notes, and always take business cards. Be sure to prioritize the employers you plan to visit and go to them first. If you’re nervous about speaking, be sure to practice before hand.

Kyra Porlides, a senior, said “I came to the career fair today because I’m looking for a potential job or internship after graduating, I’ve benefitted from career fairs in the past working with Enterprise; who is actually here today. And it was very beneficial, so I decided to come back and see what else Saint Leo has to offer.”

Career fairs are an integral event for colleges to host for students, giving a glimpse of what there is to offer. 90% of colleges and Universities host job fairs and 75% of employers say they’ve hired students that have attended. Don’t miss out on the next opportunity in the next spring semester.

Leave a Reply

